Local Students Cited
by the National Merit Corporation

Ray Baxter

B. J. Bolluyt

South Hamilton students and staff say Congratulations! to Ray Baxter and B.J. Bolluyt, South Hamilton students who were recently honored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Ray Baxter has been named a Commended student, placing in the top five percent of more than a million students who were in competition for honors. Ray received a Letter of Commendation for his outstanding scholastic potential.

B.J. Bolluyt has been selected as a National Merit Scholar semifinalist. Only one half of one percent of each state's graduating seniors are awarded this honor. B.J.'s qualifying score on the National Merit Test placed him fourth among the 10,821 Iowa students who took the exam.

Awarded Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the competition for more than 6,500 Merit scholarships, worth over $25 million. These winners will be announced in the Spring.

Other South Hamilton National Merit Scholars include Erik Iverson (1985), Andy Arends (1988), Kendal Kline (1988), Jess Iverson (1991), and Sarah Courteau (1994).